Smith Rowe and three other Arsenal stars named in England squad for friendlies

Arsenal youngster Emile Smith Rowe has been included in the England squad for the friendlies against Switzerland and Ivory Coast this month, with manager Gareth Southgate also selecting defender Ben White, forward Bukayo Saka and goalkeeper Aaron Ramsdale.

Crystal Palace duo Conor Gallagher and Marc Guehi are involved but Tyrick Mitchell, the 22-year-old left back, is not included despite a belief that he would receive a first call up because Chelsea’s Ben Chilwell remains out with injury and Manchester United’s Luke Shaw has not impressed of late.

Chelsea midfielder Mason Mount and full back Reece James are included, despite the latter only returning from a long-term injury, while former Blues striker Tammy Abraham is among the attackers. Defender Fikayo Tomori is not involved.

Tottenham Hotspur’s sole representative is captain Harry Kane, meaning no recall for Eric Dier. Southampton midfielder James Ward-Prowse is also recalled.

Man United forwards Marcus Rashford and Jadon Sancho are among those not to be selected, along with Manchester City defender Kyle Walker. Southgate is set to speak to the media about the squad’s composition at 2pm and the manager will likely face further questions around the moral dilemma of playing a World Cup in Qatar.

This international break is being viewed as one of the final chances to experiment ahead of November’s tournament. England begin their Nations League campaign in June, with four competitive fixtures scheduled, before two more matches in September.

England squad: Jordan Pickford, Nick Pope, Aaron Ramsdale; Trent Alexander-Arnold, Conor Coady, Marc Guehi, Reece James, Harry Maguire, Tyrone Mings, Luke Shaw, John Stones, Ben White; Jude Bellingham, Conor Gallagher, Jordan Henderson, Mason Mount, Declan Rice, James Ward-Prowse; Tammy Abraham, Phil Foden, Jack Grealish, Harry Kane, Bukayo Saka, Emile Smith Rowe, Raheem Sterling.