Full list of Arsenal players going to Qatar 2022 World Cup including Fabio Vieira decision

After months of deliberation, World Cup squads are starting to be finalised ahead of the opening game of the tournament on November 20

After several months of deliberation, international managers are finally confirming their squads for the upcoming World Cup in Qatar.

Plenty of nations, are yet to officially confirm who will be on the plane, but others have been quick off the mark to state who is and isn’t in their plans for the competition.

Club bosses will be as eager as the players and supporters to find out who will be staying at home to work on their fitness over the regular season break. Arsenal are set to hand those who are not due to be on international duty some time off before scheduling a training camp in Dubai.

Both Japan and Brazil announced their squads on Monday. Takehiro Tomiyasu and Gabriel Jesus were largely expected to travel with their respective nations, but Gabriel Martinelli’s inclusion was in doubt as a result of Brazil’s insane depth at left-wing. Nevertheless, Tite has decided that the 21-year-old is worth bringing to the tournament.

England announced their squad on Thursday which included a trio of Arsenal players, though Portugal’s squad had a notable admission from the Gunners. With that in mind, let’s take a look at who is confirmed to be going, who is expected to go, and who is a doubt for the World Cup as a result of injuries or being overlooked by their national team head coaches.

Confirmed to be going

Goalkeepers: Matt Turner (USA), Aaron Ramsdale (England).

Defenders: Takehiro Tomiyasu (Japan), William Saliba (France), Ben White (England).

Midfielders: Granit Xhaka (Switzerland).

Forwards: Gabriel Martinelli (Brazil), Gabriel Jesus (Brazil), Bukayo Saka (England).

Injured / not selected

Emile Smith Rowe (England – injured)

Rob Holding (England – not selected)

Reiss Nelson (England – not selected)

Eddie Nketiah (England – not selected)

Gabriel Magalhaes (Brazil – not selected)

Marquinhos (Brazil – not selected)

Albert Sambi Lokonga (Belgium – not selected)

Cedric Soares (Portugal – not selected)

Fabio Vieira (Portugal – not selected)

Oleksandr Zinchenko (Ukraine – didn’t qualify)

Kieran Tierney (Scotland – didn’t qualify)

Mohamed Elneny (Egypt – didn’t qualify)

Martin Odegaard (Norway – didn’t qualify)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *