LiveStreamMatch Highlights

Ballon d’Or 2021 ceremony LIVE: Messi beats Jorginho and Kante as Chelsea win club of the year

The annual football award, presented by French magazine France Football, was cancelled last year due to the Covid-19 pandemic, but will return tonight to the delight of footballers and fans across the world.

Reigning European champions Chelsea have five players nominated for the 2021 Ballon d’Or, with Mason Mount, N’Golo Kante, Jorginho, Romelu Lukaku and Cesar Azpilicueta all hoping to beat bookmakers’ favourite Lionel Messi to the award.

The PSG star is the odds-on favourite (4/11) to claim yet another Ballon d’Or award, and already has six in his collection from his glittering career with Barcelona.

Tottenham striker Harry Kane has also been nominated for the award, as have the likes of Cristiano Ronaldo, Karim Benzema, Erling Haaland, Robert Lewandowski, Kylian Mbappe and Mohamed Salah.

Arsenal’s Bukayo Saka is one of the ten youngsters nominated for the Kopa Trophy alongside the likes of Mason Greenwood and Pedri.

Former Arsenal goalkeeper Emiliano Martinez is in contention for the Yashin Trophy, as is Chelsea no.1 Edouard Mendy.

The event will be held at the Chatelet Theatre in Paris, with the ceremony starting around 7:30pm.

L’Equipe will be streaming the ceremony live on their YouTube channel, while fans can also stream the event via Eurosport’s website and app.

Ballon d’Or top 30 confirmed…

29 = Luka Modric (Real Madrid)

29 = Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea)

26 = Gerard Moreno (Villarreal)

26 = Nicolo Barella (Inter Milan)

26 = Ruben Dias (Manchester City)

25. Phil Foden (Manchester City)

24. Pedri (Barcelona)

23. Harry Kane (Tottenham)

21 = Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United)

21 = Lautaro Martinez (Inter Milan)

20. Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City)

19. Mason Mount (Chelsea)

18. Simon Kjaer (AC Milan)

17. Luis Suarez (Atletico Madrid)

16. Neymar (Paris Saint-Germain)

15. Raheem Sterling (Manchester City)

14. Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus)

13. Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus)

12. Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea)

11. Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund)

10. Gianluigi Donnarumma (Paris Saint-Germain)

9. Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain)

8. Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)

7. Mo Salah (Liverpool)

6. Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United)

5. N’Golo Kante (Chelsea)

4. Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)

3. Jorginho (Chelsea)

2. Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich)

1. Lionel Messi (Paris Saint-Germain)


Lionel Messi wins his SEVENTH Ballon d’Or! Huge congratulations to Lionel and Robert Lewandowski, who comes in second-place.